Sélectionner une page

Foreign Pulses & Borderline Dubs

Foreign Pulses & Borderline Dubs FX087 - 2016

1 – 24/7
2 – L’éveil
3 – Pulse
4 – Basement Groove
5 – No Way Out
6 – (re)produktiv
7 – Glauquenspiel
8 – Flower Power
9 – Flow

Professor Psygrooves

Tasty mixture of jazz, downtempo and dub aesthetics, Professor’s first opus, “Foreign Pulses & Borderline Dubs” is both accessible and precise, melodic and mind-expanding … reverie, anger and journey cross and run together smoothly. Aboard this third millennium album, the prof. manages with a great maturity to combine live playing and acoustic shades with electronic textures. The musicians (bass, drums, guitar, clarinets and keys) fully express their sensibility and sense of groove while electronics and arrangements deconstruct, recompose, explore sound design and open sound fields.

You can easily think about Cinematic Orchestra but the professor’s influences go from Burnt Friedman to Jaga Jazzist, Matthew Herbert, Señor Coconut, the Jazzland label and artists from the Scape catalogue. Even if he knows how to surround himself properly, Romain Sygroves aka Professor Psygrooves is in sole command of drums and electronics. Basing his music on improvisation sessions recorded over loops, samples or riffs, the prof. goes round genres he likes (the “foreign pulses”) and works the music “in dub” with delays and reverbs. Then, he lets his ideas stray in the inspiration flow, he treats, cuts, pastes, arranges and edits sounds to obtain coherent structures, with the keynote to create a “fake band” and then keeps safe the spirit and richness of living music.

This direction gives the album a rougher aspect (the “borderline dubs”) compared with the usually “electrojazz” labelled albums. Dub is here approached as an improving and deconstructing process, which allows him never to be relying on basic standards but, rather, to be constantly searching for new ways to extend sound creativity.

The last step of this project was the mixing session in the Jarring Effects Studio, which gave the professor useful technical means to give this music an additional sound quality value. All this sound microcosm, taken care of by Céline Frezza, the studio’s Tinkerbell, is in a perpetual motion, always shaking to serve an elaborate, lively and simply handsome music.

To accompany this album release, Pr. Psygrooves will perform live as a quartet, handling drums alongside BigMik (Rhodes, Keys, Laptop), Moziah (Guitar, Bass, Synth.) and Boune (clarinets), and will make most of these gigs inverting the concept by using the original tracks as bases for collective improvisations… And this tour will go with the one of Burnt Friedman (Flanger) and Jaki Liebezeit, former Krautrock band Can drummer.


;(function($) { $(window).load(function() { $('.js-masonry').masonry('layout'); }); })(window.jQuery);