Sélectionner une page


Paranorama FX083 - 2016

1 – Carn
2 – Bored to death
3 – Your Mother Smokes Crack
4 – Ghost Ride
5 – Teach Me How To Preach
6 – I love ya green dress
7 – The message
8 – CIA
9 – Steam
10 – The french subway ticket
11 – Magic Bird
12 – Water
13 – Paranorama (feat Sofiane Bedjaoui)

Grosso Gadgetto

Since 2005 and the release of their debut album on Lyon label Steppin’ Razor, Grosso Gadgetto did not stood unemployed : loads of gigs all through french territory, exclusive tracks on compilations initiated by Jarring Effects (“Audioactivism”, “JFX Bits”), and more recently the EP “Your Mother Smokes Crack”, released on cd1d.com. These are as many evidences that the four buddies would not stop experimenting on sound, and that in the shadows of the studios, the successor of “How long do you have to wait” was on his way. Here it is, and it is called “Paranorama”.

Directly, opening track “Carn” draws the set in a few seconds, announcing that Grosso Gadgetto’s sound has become richer, presenting its amazing power, blending dislocated hip-hop rythms, dark synthetic backgrounds supporting the explosions of biting guitar riffs. As for the basses, quite simply overinflated, and ideally carrying the singular flow of Real Fake MC, french-american artist featuring in numerous projects, and having released two albums already.

Paranorama” is voluntarily destabilizing its audience with this sound torrent. This fire is fed with a perverted breakbeat, unchained cuts and scratches. Grosso Gadgetto and Real Fake MC move forward, throwing grenades without warning, and let tracks of anthology burst out, like these magnificent “Ghost Ride”, “The Message” or “Water”, whose choruses are made of catchy and addictive melodies. The album ends with “Paranodrama”, which would make a perfect soundtrack for a sick and claustrophobic sci-fi movie that John Carpenter would not deny.

At last, one and all would recall a big-mouthed album, blessed by a powerful, warlike and concession free vision of hip-hop, however not excluding subtlety in songwriting and a disconcerting sense of originality. Far away from classic formats, “Paranorama” can legitimately stand besides “Techno Animal” and “Company Flow”.

Missing FX! No tracks available.

;(function($) { $(window).load(function() { $('.js-masonry').masonry('layout'); }); })(window.jQuery);