Sélectionner une page

Beyond the Blue

Beyond the Blue FX152 - 2021
CD+ DIGITAL+ LP

  1. 2020 I Pray Thee
  2. Educated Fools
  3. Good to Talk
  4. Wareika Hill
  5. Beyond the Blue
  6. Biological Warfare
  7. Mama Africa
  8. Grandma’s Joint
  9. Dying Too Young
  10. Those Days
  11. Tomorrow is Another Day
  12. Play it Again

Brain Damage

How to condense in a sound bite, the incredible and terrible journey, experienced by Martin Nathan and his longtime friend Samuel Clayton Jr, both gone to Jamaica in March 2020, for a collaboration with the legendary Big Youth. The context of a first and unprecedented world lockdown has only left them very little time to record the takes with the famous DJ, before they both contracted the virus. Martin Nathan was lucky enough to be able to get back to France, although had to remain confined and to take care of himself alone in his studio during five weeks upon his return. Samuel Clayton Jr, however, did not come back, struck down by the disease in Kingston.

The iron determination of the producer, supported by the Jamaican producer Stephen Stewart, did nonetheless bring the project to completion.

For its part, one thing is certain, Big Youth is in great shape! He brilliantly marks his return with this album, which consists almost entirely of new releases, the first for many years! According to the many prominent musicians and singers at Anchor studios in Kingston during the shoots, he has lost none of his wit: « …you still get it, man! » Sparkling and inexhaustible, distilling an astonishing variety of vocal styles, which he himself created, he evokes in turn «the old days», the golden age of the Jamaican reggae of the 1960s and 70s, gives us his version a bit of a conspirator of the health crisis, evokes his faith and speaks of love… while integrating wonderfully into every universe proposed by Brain Damage.

Because if we rejoice here in the form and inventiveness of the elder, Martin Nathan is not left behind and reshapes once again his style for the occasion. Always more musical, his proposals are tinged with various influences, for him until then still untapped, jazz, blues, ska, rock- steady… sublimated by delicious and silky brass arrangements made by Franck Boyron and his acolytes, Baptiste Sarat and Fred Roudet.The whole, with a production that leaves nothing to chance, is undoubtedly a new cornerstone of the abundant discography of Brain Damage, which we always wonder how far it will take us.

Samuel Clayton Jr, meanwhile, will be missed by many. If we hear it regularly and obviously in the form of samples throughout what will remain the last album on which he will have worked, it is above all his state of mind that Martin Nathan tried to respect, in the form of a new human and sound adventure.

The emotion is here audible, palpable.




;(function($) { $(window).load(function() { $('.js-masonry').masonry('layout'); }); })(window.jQuery);

Sélectionner une page

Beyond the Blue

Beyond the Blue FX152 - 2021
CD+ DIGITAL+ LP

  1. 2020 I Pray Thee
  2. Educated Fools
  3. Good to Talk
  4. Wareika Hill
  5. Beyond the Blue
  6. Biological Warfare
  7. Mama Africa
  8. Grandma’s Joint
  9. Dying Too Young
  10. Those Days
  11. Tomorrow is Another Day
  12. Play it Again

Brain Damage

Comment résumer en quelques mots l’incroyable et terrible aventure vécue par Martin Nathan et son fidèle compagnon Samuel Clayton Jr pour la production de Beyond The Blue, partis en Jamaïque en mars 2020, pour une collaboration avec le légendaire Big Youth. Le contexte d’un premier lockdown mondial inédit ne leur laissera que peu de temps pour effectuer des prises avec le célèbre DJ, avant qu’ils ne contractent tout deux le virus… Martin Nathan aura la chance de pouvoir rentrer en France, bien qu’obligé de rester confiné et de se soigner seul dans son studio pendant cinq semaines dès son retour. Samuel Clayton Jr, lui, ne rentrera pas, emporté par la maladie à Kingston.

La volonté de fer du producteur, épaulé par le producteur jamaïcain Stephen Stewart, permettra tout de même à ce projet d’aboutir.

De son côté, une chose est sûre, Big Youth est en grande forme ! Il marque brillamment son retour avec cet album, constitué quasiment uniquement de nouveautés, le premier depuis de longues années ! Aux dires mêmes des nombreux éminents musiciens et chanteurs présents aux Anchor studios à Kingston pendant les prises, il n’a rien perdu de sa verve : « …you still get it, man ! ». Pétillant et intarissable, distillant une variété étonnante de styles vocaux, qu’il a lui-même créés, il évoque tour à tour « the old days », l’âge d’or du reggae jamaïcain des années 1960 et 70, nous livre sa version un brin complotiste de la crise sanitaire, évoque sa foi et parle d’amour… tout en s’intégrant à merveille à chaque univers proposé par Brain Damage.

Car si l’on se réjouit ici de la forme et l’inventivité du elder, Martin Nathan n’est pas en reste et refond une nouvelle fois son style pour l’occasion. Toujours plus musicales, ses propositions se teintent d’influences diverses, pour lui jusque-là encore inexploitées, jazz, blues, ska, rock- steady… sublimées par de délicieux et soyeux arrangements de cuivres réalisés par Franck Boyron et ses acolytes, Baptiste Sarat et Fred Roudet. L’ensemble, bénéficiant d’une production ne laissant rien au hasard, constitue sans doute une nouvelle pierre angulaire de la foisonnante discographie de Brain Damage, dont on se demande toujours jusqu’où elle nous emmènera.

Samuel Clayton Jr, quant à lui, manquera à beaucoup de monde. Si on l’entend régulièrement et de façon évidente sous forme de samples tout au long de ce qui restera le dernier album sur lequel il aura travaillé, c’est avant tout son état d’esprit que Martin Nathan s’est efforcé de respecter, sous la forme d’une nouvelle aventure sonore et humaine.

L’émotion est ici audible, palpable.




Pin It on Pinterest