Sélectionner une page

Paranorama

Paranorama FX083 - 2016


1 – Carn
2 – Bored to death
3 – Your Mother Smokes Crack
4 – Ghost Ride
5 – Teach Me How To Preach
6 – I love ya green dress
7 – The message
8 – CIA
9 – Steam
10 – The french subway ticket
11 – Magic Bird
12 – Water
13 – Paranorama (feat Sofiane Bedjaoui)


Grosso Gadgetto

Since 2005 and the release of their debut album on Lyon label Steppin’ Razor, Grosso Gadgetto did not stood unemployed : loads of gigs all through french territory, exclusive tracks on compilations initiated by Jarring Effects (“Audioactivism”, “JFX Bits”), and more recently the EP “Your Mother Smokes Crack”, released on cd1d.com. These are as many evidences that the four buddies would not stop experimenting on sound, and that in the shadows of the studios, the successor of “How long do you have to wait” was on his way. Here it is, and it is called “Paranorama”.

Directly, opening track “Carn” draws the set in a few seconds, announcing that Grosso Gadgetto’s sound has become richer, presenting its amazing power, blending dislocated hip-hop rythms, dark synthetic backgrounds supporting the explosions of biting guitar riffs. As for the basses, quite simply overinflated, and ideally carrying the singular flow of Real Fake MC, french-american artist featuring in numerous projects, and having released two albums already.

Paranorama” is voluntarily destabilizing its audience with this sound torrent. This fire is fed with a perverted breakbeat, unchained cuts and scratches. Grosso Gadgetto and Real Fake MC move forward, throwing grenades without warning, and let tracks of anthology burst out, like these magnificent “Ghost Ride”, “The Message” or “Water”, whose choruses are made of catchy and addictive melodies. The album ends with “Paranodrama”, which would make a perfect soundtrack for a sick and claustrophobic sci-fi movie that John Carpenter would not deny.

At last, one and all would recall a big-mouthed album, blessed by a powerful, warlike and concession free vision of hip-hop, however not excluding subtlety in songwriting and a disconcerting sense of originality. Far away from classic formats, “Paranorama” can legitimately stand besides “Techno Animal” and “Company Flow”.


Missing FX! No tracks available.



;(function($) { $(window).load(function() { $('.js-masonry').masonry('layout'); }); })(window.jQuery);

UA-20117402-1
Sélectionner une page

Paranorama

Paranorama FX083 - 2008


1 – Carn
2 – Bored to death
3 – Your Mother Smokes Crack
4 – Ghost Ride
5 – Teach Me How To Preach
6 – I love ya green dress
7 – The message
8 – CIA
9 – Steam
10 – The french subway ticket
11 – Magic Bird
12 – Water
13 – Paranorama (feat Sofiane Bedjaoui)


Grosso Gadgetto

Depuis 2005, année qui avait marqué la sortie de son premier album sur le label lyonnais Steppin Razor, Grosso Gadgetto n’a pas chômé. De nombreux concerts aux quatre coins de l’hexagone, des titres exclusifs sur les compiles initiées par Jarring Effects, (Audioactivism, JFX Bits) et plus récemment un maxi vinyle « Your mother smokes Crack! », sorti sur la plateforme cd1d.com, laissaient forcément présager que les quatre acolytes n’avaient pas abandonné leurs expérimentations sonores et que dans l’ombre des studios, le successeur de « How Long do you have to wait ?» allait bientôt être dévoilé. C’est chose faite avec ce tout nouvel album « Paranorama » dont la sortie est prévue le 1er septembre 2008.

D’emblée, « Carn » titre qui ouvre l’album, dresse le décor et démontre en l’espace de quelques secondes que le son de Grosso Gadgetto s’est encore étoffé et fait désormais preuve d’une puissance inouïe, mêlant rythmiques hip-hop disloquées, nappes synthétiques sombres desquelles s’extirpent les riffs de guitares corrosifs. Quant aux basses, elles sont tout simplement gonflées à bloc et portent à merveille le flow singulier du Real fake MC, artiste franco américain abonné à de nombreux projets et déjà titulaire de deux albums.

« Paranorama » déstabilise volontairement l’auditeur par ce déluge sonore. Sous un feu nourri de breakbeat pervers, de cuts et de scratchs déchaînés, Grosso Gadgetto et le Real Fake MC avancent et balancent leurs grenades incendiaires sans crier gare, quand il ne s’agit pas de morceaux d’anthologie comme les superbes « Ghost Ride », « The Message », ou « Water », titres dont les refrains font la part belle aux mélodies accrocheuses et addictives. L’album se termine par « Paranodrama », parfaite BO pour un film de science fiction malade et claustrophobe que ne renierait sans doute pas John Carpenter.

Au final on retiendra que « Paranorama » est un album fort en gueule, placé sous les hospices d’un hip-hop sans concession, énergique et belliqueux qui n’exclut pas pour autant une grande subtilité dans les compositions et un sens de l’originalité déconcertant. Loin des formats classiques, Grosso Gadgetto pause son emprunte dans l’indie hip-hop contemporain et trouvera légitimement sa place aux cotés de Techno Animal et autre Company flow.


Missing FX! Aucun morceau disponible.



Pin It on Pinterest