Brain Damage


WWW

With more than 11 albums behind him already, Martin Nathan ventures since 15 years into many artistic and stylistic experiments, under the name of Brain Damage. Alternately dark, atmospheric, aggressive or poetic, his universe seems to be constantly evolving, what may be the key to his project longevity.

Acclaimed as one of the founders of the French dub scene, he presents, early in 1999, the first dub live-act of its kind in France. After producing the famous « Brain Booster » track, embryo of the French dub-steppa, he forges connections with some masters of the style in the UK (Zion Train, Alpha & Omega, The Disciples). 2002, in London, alongside the singer Tena Stelin, he composes the standard « Genetic Weapon », — still recently taken over by OBF Sound System —, and produces afterwards his two first albums on the Parisian label Hammerbass. 2006, always accompanied by the bassist Raphaël Talis, he joins the label Jarring Effects. A trilogy of three experimental and conceptual opuses follows, developed in collaboration with a host of international artists (Black Sifichi, Mark Stewart, Hakim Bey), openly breaking the codes and blowing up the very boundaries of the style, where he was a bit hastily catalogued.

After his sidekick left, 2011 marks the beginning of a new chapter, prompting into new directions the project that becomes more polymorphous than ever. Martin Nathan balances then collaborations (High Tone, Vibronics, Sir Jean) and his solo works, getting always closer to the roots of his favorite style.
2015 the realization in Kingston, Jamaica, of a part of his upcoming album seems to confirm it. His friendship with Samuel Clayton Jr, sound engineer and internationally respected producer (Steel Pulse / Toots & the Maytals) was decisive in the choice of this destination. This essential figure in Jamaica indeed opens the doors of the mythical Harry J Studio (Bob Marley / Burning Spear) to Brain Damage, and enables improbable connections with legendary artists for unforgettable studio sessions.

During the recording of the last album, the director Wasaru has accompany Martin Nathan in his Jamaïcan’s trip and interviewed the singers of the record. This was a great opportunity for him not only to create and artistic work but also to hear these legends narrate their childhood memories. It had a heritage value. In this 8 episodes of the web series « Walk the Walk » we can find a photo of the 60s and 70s Jamaican life, anecdotes about the different characters, mythical events of the island (Bob Marley, Tosh Pete) and intimate confessions.

Watch the webserie « Walk The Walk »


How do you sleep?
Burn Babylon Burn
Spoken dub manifesto vol.1
Short cuts
Short Cuts Live
Burning Before Sunset
High Damage
Brain Damage Dub Session Meets Sir Jean
What You Gonna Do?
Empire Soldiers
Empire Soldiers Live
Walk the Walk
FX100, a Hundred Effects
Walk the Walk 7″
Talk the Talk
Liberation Time
¡Ya no más!



31.03.2017 @ Vk* Bruxelles, BE
11.04.2018 @ Smac 07 ANNONAY, FR

;(function($) { $(window).load(function() { $('.js-masonry').masonry('layout'); }); })(window.jQuery);

Brain Damage


WWW

Avec déjà 11 albums à son actif, Martin Nathan multiplie depuis plus de 15 ans les propositions artistiques les plus diverses sous le nom de Brain Damage. Tour à tour sombre, atmosphérique, revendicatif ou poétique, son univers semble être en perpétuel mouvement, constituant sans doute l’une des clés de la longévité de son projet.

Considéré comme l’un des fondateurs de la scène dub en France, il y crée dès 1999 le premier live machine du genre. Après avoir produit le fameux « Brain Booster », embryon du dub-steppa à la française, il établit des connections avec certains des maîtres du style en Angleterre (Zion Train, Alpha & Omega, The Disciples). En 2002, à Londres, il réalise en compagnie du chanteur Tena Stelin l’incontournable « Genetic Weapon », encore repris tout récemment par le soundsystem OBF, et produit par la suite ses deux premiers albums sur le label parisien Hammerbass. Toujours accompagné de Raphaël Talis, bassiste, il rejoint en 2006 l’écurie Jarring Effects. S’en suit une trilogie d’albums expérimentaux et conceptuels réalisés en collaboration avec une pléiade d’artistes internationaux (Black Sifichi, Mark Stewart, Hakim Bey). Il s’affranchit alors franchement des codes du genre dans lequel on l’avait peut-être catalogué un peu rapidement.

En 2011, le départ de son acolyte marque le début d’une nouvelle ère pour le projet, qui devient plus que jamais polymorphe. Martin Nathan alterne alors les collaborations (High Tone, Vibronics, Sir Jean) avec ses travaux en solo le rapprochant toujours plus des sources mêmes de son style de prédilection. En 2015, la réalisation en Jamaïque d’une partie son nouvel album, et la participation des légendaires Horace Andy, Willi Williams, Winston Mc Anuff, Kiddus I et Ras Michael semblent en témoigner.

Au fil de toutes ces années, il a su se forger une solide réputation internationale, cultivant avec talent une certaine dichotomie entre ses sessions de studio souvent cérébrales, et des centaines de prestations live, toujours explosives. En France, de par son passif et sa capacité à se renouveler, Brain Damage apparaît désormais comme le trait d’union entre la scène qu’il a contribué à créer il y a plus de 15 ans, et les nouveaux leaders d’un dub rajeuni, plus synthétique et frontal.

Durant l’enregistrement du dernier album, le réalisateur Wasaru a accompagné Martin Nathan lors de son séjour en Jamaïque et a filmé les différents artistes ayant collaboré à « Walk The Walk ». Il est apparu comme une évidence à Brain Damage que la matière qu’ils tenaient avec « Walk the Walk » dépassait le cadre artistique : entendre ces légendes vivantes raconter leurs souvenirs d’enfance a en effet une valeur patrimoniale significative. Entre photographie de la vie jamaïcaine des années 60 et 70, anecdotes sur les personnages et évènements mythiques de l’île (Bob Marley, Pete Tosh) et confidences intimes, ce sont autant d’histoires dans l’Histoire que racontent en 8 épisodes la web série « Walk the Walk ».
Regarder la série


How do you sleep?
Burn Babylon Burn
Spoken dub manifesto vol.1
Short cuts
Short Cuts Live
Burning Before Sunset
High Damage
Brain Damage Dub Session Meets Sir Jean
What You Gonna Do?
Empire Soldiers
Empire Soldiers Live
Walk the Walk
FX100, a Hundred Effects
Walk the Walk 7″
Talk the Talk
Liberation Time



31.03.2017 @ Vk* Bruxelles, BE

Pin It on Pinterest